WTF?

You know… why the face?

Music has been in such a bad place for so long, even I have stopped questioning if it’ll ever really bounce back. Who would have thought that when our parents warned us about the emergence of MTV and how evil it was, they were right… just not in the way they imagined. There were lots of factors, but mostly MTV and the internet killed rock.

Sad really, for those of us who grew up loving music… to watch it turn to jelly breaks what’s left of my heart.

spot1

I stood witness in mostly silence as the rock genre transformed itself from the melodic songs of the 60’s into the grunge of the 90’s and finally into the obscurity of pop, some time around 2000. I call rock ghost music now, because the only songs worth listening to are from 40 years ago now (except for my music, Blabpipe, of course).

So where does this leave us?

Searching the radio, and checking out the hottest tracks from online sources… we’re doomed. What’s pushed as popular songs now is a joke. WTF? I seriously can’t find any intelligent music, regardless of genre.

OK. There are a few bright spots that blink on every once in a while but on the whole the music business has gone bad. WTF indeed.

I fire up my guitar and rig, and play the day away.

One last song before the light goes out forever.

-Blabpipe

Leave a comment